The 24th REMET “Shaping the Future” Award Winner Selected

Date posted: 7th May 2020

REMET PIC, Inc. in conjunction with the School of Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC) came together at the School on December 4, 2019, to select the 24th winner of the REMET “Shaping the Future” Award. The finalists presented their work at the event and a panel of experts drawn from industry and the art community assessed all the entrants work, reviewing their proposals and evaluating their maquette’s.

The judges were impressed by the high quality of the entrants, and after long deliberations Zachary Miller was named the winner with his piece “Amphora 2“.

All the entering artists were invited to attend the event and discuss their work with the assembled judges.

We would like to thank all the members of the panel, all the entrants as well as all the staff at SAIC who make this event possible. This year’s panel included: Gabe Akagawa, Juan Chavez, Isobel Neil, John P. Paraszczak, Mary Seyfarth, Karly Spell and Bob Wartella.

2019 Winner

Last year’s winner, Yunhee Min was presented with her plaque and prize by John P. Paraszczak from REMET. The winning work was called “May Day, May Day”


About the Award

The REMET “Shaping the Future Award” was established to provide an aspiring SAIC student artist with the funds and support necessary to complete a cast metal work of art, using the precision investment casting process. REMET has proudly presented this award, in conjunction with the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, since 1997. Many of the previous award recipients have gone on to careers in the art world. In addition to being successful artists, past winners are found in other segments of the industry, including education and art foundry operations. REMET is very pleased to have been able to maintain contact with many of the previous Shaping the Future Award recipients. Click on the link for the Shaping the Future Hall of Fame to see past winners work.

Remet Shaping the Future Award Winners Gallery

< Back to News